Thoughts about the future of the blockchain technology

The current uses of the blockchain could be more useful for humanity, so, how could this technology change or evolve?

ยท

4 min read

I'm a fan of the best of technology improving people's lives, so in this moment of disorder in the cryptocurrency based blockchains, we should take a break and think for a moment about what's best for humanity and how we should organize it.

I'm going to explain my point of view about how each one of the 'crypto' blockchain tools could have better uses. Before all of that, here's a disclaimer, I'm only explaining other uses for this tools, but I'm not saying that the crypto blockchains aren't useful for a part of the people, or that it's less useful. I just name other uses. Also, some of this ideas may be already in the works, that would make me happy to hear it, contact me if that's the case. Well, I think that with all that, I would be ready to start, let's begin!

NFT

Let's start with this one, traditionally(traditionally here means crypto), a NFT currently just can't be bought by anybody, the projects that explain that NFTs could be used as a key for your car or your home, or anything similar, that's sadly impossible, if you can't buy your car key, well, that's not a util project. In my personal opinion, if you think that having a Smart Contract about your home purchase in the blockchain would de-statize the managing of your personal property, that's a chimera, you don't live alone in the world.

A better use for this technology would be using a NFT as admission for events, not only in metaverse events(we will talk about that later), but also in real life events, a NFT is generated when you register for the event, it is sent to you, and only you can use it, as other people don't have the same hash as you. That's more secure than QR scanning.

Metaverse

When I first heard of a metaverse, it was almost always heard with NFT and blockchain, so I guessed that it was related, but recently I learned that there's metaverses that aren't based in blockchain. Here's an image that cassifies some of the metaverse-like networks that there are live right now: Mapping-Metaverses-715x395-removebg-preview.jpg One of the problems that I see with this tool, is that each one of the speakers that have talked about this defined the metaverses in a different way(game, social network, etc.), so I don't think there's a clear, common thinking about what a metaverse is and should do. In my personal opinion, it's a virtual world as part of a Virtual Community. The wikipedia pages and it's references have some nice history about the terms, I recommend taking a look at it.

There's already good uses for this tool in use, it's a tool with so many usefulness, that it can be used for good, as well as bad purposes. Sorry, but no ideas about this yet.

Final thoughts about blockchain

The design and code of the 'bitcoin' blockchain, not the oldest one, but the first one that was successful, is the general one that everybody thinks of when they hear 'blockchain'. Anonymous transaction of hash A to hash B, that means money. I don't say they are wrong, that's bitcoin, the only problem is that they confuse bitcoin with blockchain. Bitcoin means that network in particular that works that way, and blockchain means a P2P network that connects all of it's nodes for doing...well, anything in fact. File managing, system managing in a network, cybersecurity, etc. When a business thinks about getting blockchain in a project, they should think about the costs of doing that, the needs of the project, and if there's no need for a decentralized network, the project can just be done on a conventional server. Now talking to the developers, of any language, there's a need for innovative and disruptive technology, that kind of technology that's not easy to bring to the market. I know it won't be easy, but the way of a thousand milles begins with a single step. Good luck, and if you need any help, feel free to mail me or contact me in any other way there's in my github.

ย